top of page

Munkey Munchies: Mikey Likes It Ice Cream

By David Hernandez

This month’s installment of Munkey Munchiez goes to a certified Lower East Side and NYC staple, “Mikey Likes It Ice Cream”. For those who listen to the Happy Munkey Podcast might remember when we first met Mikey almost a year ago now! Whether you are looking for something vanilla or something next level, Mikey Likes It most definitely has options for you! One of my go to favorites is the “Brady Bunch”, which is when banana pudding, Vienna Fingers, and crushed vanilla wafers all meet up perfectly in an ice cream. Or if I am feeling something non-dairy (shoutouts to my lactose intolerant homies) I grab the Dr.Sebi inspired, “Eat to Heal” which is a Vegan flavor made of Blueberry Hibiscus ice cream with a crushed pineapple and cayenne pepper swirl.


As you might have guessed, I am a frequent scooper and I know Mikey’s menu very well. But this past month I made my way down to Mikey’s Lower East Side location for a special event! Longtime Happy Munkey supporter and Rochester Hip Hop heavy hitter Pound 448 was dropping a collaborative limited edition vegan flavor with Mikey! In honor of Pound’s newest cannabis strain Tiramisu, Mikey and Pounds came together to create a custom vegan tiramisu using vegan chocolate chip cookies that were soaked in coffee and folded in with vegan tiramisu pieces. If you are not drooling already, you also have the option to put this bad boy on a hot waffle!

When I arrived I said “What’s good” to Pounds who was sitting outside Mikey’s , and made sure to lace him up with some Happy Munkey Goodies. I then got on the socially distanced line outside the store to patiently and eagerly wait for a scoop of Tiramisu! When I got inside I was greeted by Mikey himself wearing his iconic white 1950’s ice cream parlor uniform. We chopped it up for a bit and then I got right to business with a scoop of Tiramisu! After just my first bite I was sold! To put it frankly y’all are sleeping if you don’t head down to Mikey Likes It to get you some! So make sure to grab yourself some of Mikey Likes It’s Tiramisu and get adventurous with the flavors next time you are in the LES or Harlem!


0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page